New Order

Idea & Movement

The Hitlerian New Year


The HITLERIAN YEAR begins on April 20 (Adolf Hitler's birthday) and runs through April 19 of the following calendar year.

The new Hitlerian year, which begins on April 20, 2012, is enumerated JdF-123.


Every great epoch-making faith counts the years since its beginning.

For Christians, this is the year AD 2012, which is the putative number of years since the birth of its savior, Jesus of Nazareth. For Muslims, the current year is AH 1433, this being the number of years since the flight of the Prophet Muhammad from Mecca to Medina. According to the Jewish calendar, we now live in the year 5772, computing time backwards to the creation of the Universe in Hebrew mythology. In the traditional Chinese calendar, the current year is 4709 ("Year of the Water Dragon").

The Hitlerian year reckons the passage of time since the birth of Adolf Hitler in Braunau-am-Inn on the 20th of April, 1889.

Origin of the Hitlerian Year

The Christian monk Dionysius Exiguus is credited with the calendar years formally denominated by Anno Domini ("Year of the Lord"), which are now used not just by Christians, but throughout the world.

The Hitlerian year was first used by Matt Koehl, current commander of the NEW ORDER and the World Union of National Socialists. Back in the mid-1960s, Koehl was the national secretary of George Lincoln Rockwell's American Nazi Party, as well as corresponding secretary of the World Union of National Socialists. One day in 1965, without any fanfare or big announcement, he quietly began adding the notation "YF-76" to the date of Party and WUNS correspondence. This stood for
"Year of the Führer 76," that is, 76 years since the birth of Adolf Hitler. Soon afterwards, Koehl used the YF date on the first issue of the WUNS Bulletin. From these humble beginnings it quickly spread throughout the global NS community.

The Prefix

 As mentioned, Koehl first used the initials "YF" — "Year of the Führer" — to designate the Hitlerian year. However, some people pointed out that it was considered bad form to mix two languages in the same phrase. Consequently, beginning with the new Hitlerian year in 1976, the prefix was changed to "YL," for "Year of the Leader."

This usage continued until the mid-1990s, when it was decided that for common worldwide purposes, it was more appropriate to designate the prefix in Hitler's own language (Führersprache). For a short while, the prefix "FJ" ("Führersjahr") was employed.  

In 1998, the current designation was adopted: "JdF" — "Jahr des Führers."

Determining the Current Year 

To figure out the Hitlerian year on any given day, subtract 1888 from the calendar year prior to April 20. For example, 2012 minus 1888 equals JdF-122. For dates on or after April 20, subtract 1889. Thus, 2012 minus 1889 equals JdF-123.

Celebrating the Hitlerian New Year's Day 

The 20th of April is the most joyous, festive date of the Hitlerian year. National Socialist comrades and NS sympathizers the world over celebrate the day with private ceremonies and gatherings, as well as with public activity. Candles are traditionally lit in front of Swastika banners and busts of Hitler, and portraits of him are festooned with sprigs of spring greenry and flowers. National Socialists unable to spend the happy occasion with other comrades mark the day privately in the solitude of their own hearts. 

And above all, on this deeply spiritual occasion, new reserves of commitment and energy are summoned forth by the faithful to carry the Good Word of Adolf Hitler's race-saving message to the Aryan world over the coming 12 months.

Building a better world for future aryan generations